Charity Choices

RideLondon

The story so far in clickbait:

You won’t BELIEVE what this young professional from *insert name of your current town/city* has bought instead of a wardrobe!

Blog 1 – Results Day

Blog 2 – Bike vs. Wardrobe

Part of my reasoning of the fact I’d go through with RideLondon if I got a place, was the thought that I’d raise money for charity. I’ve always had the mindset that if someone’s asking for sponsorship for a challenge, it should indeed be a challenge. Maybe this is me being difficult, but hey, that’s how I see it. On this premise, I felt like this was something I’d feel was acceptable to be asking people for sponsorship for.

With so many great charities out there, it was tricky to pick, but I’ve decided I will be riding for Refuge, a charity that does amazing work both aiming to prevent domestic violence, and working with those who have been affected.

Image result for refuge logo

Last year, I got a black eye. Not to do with domestic violence, no (essentially I walked into the back of my friends head, good one Louise), however, this did really get me thinking. Each morning I was there trying to cover the bruise up with make up, something myself and my friends could laugh about, however it occurred to me that for so many this is not a joke, but an absolutely terrible reality. Women (and men) living in fear, doing all they can to hide the signs of what they’re going through behind closed doors.

Shocking Stats Time:

  1. 1/4 women will experience domestic violence in her lifetime
  2. 1/9 will be severely physically abused this year
  3. 2 women a week are killed by current or former partners in England and Wales

These are our mothers, our sisters, our friends. Heartbreaking isn’t it.

So I think this situation can be summed up as – NOT OK. As a result, I’d like to make a little difference by raising a little money by doing a little cycle ride.

Sound fair? If you enjoy being asked for money (who doesn’t amirite) then WATCH THIS SPACE a treat is in store. But in seriousness, yes, there will be some sort of online fundraising situation, yes, I will be a bit annoying and potentially clog up your news feed with my pleas (#soznotsoz in advance). This said, anything you can give will a) Make a big difference to the lives of women, men and children suffering in silence UK-wide and b) Make a big difference to my motivation to carry on with this cycling lark, so in advance, THANK YOU.

Thanks for reading,

LP x


What is this Refuge?

For more information on what Refuge is, what they do, and where to get help if you need it, head to their website.


Up next: On(/Off) the Road

One thought on “Charity Choices

Leave a comment